CCES receives ALDSE recognition grant for improved third grade reading scores
August 22, 2018
By Anna Beahm

The Alabama State Department of Education is giving $1 million to 50 schools across the state to recognize those schools' improvement in last year's third grade reading scores in the 2017-18 school year, according to a statement from ALSDE.

Each school will receive a $20,000 check from ALSDE as a way of recognizing and incentivizing teachers and students who have worked hard to achieve proficiency in reading by third grade in last school year's Scantron Performance Series Reading Assessment.

Schools from each of the eight Alabama State Board of Education Districts were recognized.

A special recognition and awards ceremony will be held Thursday, Sept. 13 at the ALSDE after the September Alabama State Board of Education Meeting. Gov. Kay Ivey, state legislators and other dignitaries will be there.

Below are the schools recognized by district and school system:

State School Board District 1
Fairhope Elementary School-Baldwin County
Silverhill School - Baldwin County
Spanish Fort Elementary School - Baldwin County
Swift Elementary School - Baldwin County
Pleasant Home School - Covington County
WS Harlan Elementary School - Covington County
Eichold-Mertz School of Math and Science - Mobile County

State School Board District 2
Cleburne County Elementary School - Cleburne County
Kinston School - Coffee County
Highlands Elementary School - Dothan City
Geneva County Elementary School - Geneva County
Samson Elementary School - Geneva County
Slocomb Elementary School - Geneva County
Abbeville Elementary School - Henry County
Wedowee Elementary School - Randolph County

State School Board District 3
Clanton Intermediate School - Chilton County
Bluff Park Elementary School- Hoover City
Deer Valley Elementary School - Hoover City
Greystone Elementary School - Hoover City
Mountain Brook Elementary School - Mountain Brook City
Pelham Oaks Elementary School - Pelham City
Mt. Laurel Elementary School - Shelby County

State School Board District 4
Phillips Academy - Birmingham City

State School Board District 5
Billingsley High School - Autauga County
Pine Level Elementary School - Autauga County
Southern Choctaw Elementary School - Choctaw County
Sweet Water High School - Marengo County

State School Board District 6
Randolph Park Elementary School - Anniston City
Appalachian School - Blount County
Cold Springs Elementary School - Cullman County
Parkside Elementary School - Cullman County
Chestnut Grove Elementary School - Decatur City
F.E. Burleson Elementary School - Hartselle City
Springville Elementary School - St. Clair County

State School Board District 7
Hatton Elementary School - Colbert County
Leighton Elementary School - Colbert County
Berry Elementary School - Fayette County
Mount Olive Elementary School - Jefferson County
South Lamar School - Lamar County
Central High School - Lauderdale County
Underwood Elementary School - Lauderdale County
Crestline Elementary School - Mountain Brook City
Cahaba Elementary School - Trussville City
Tuscaloosa Magnet School - Elementary - Tuscaloosa City
Verner Elementary School - Tuscaloosa City

State School Board District 8
Attalla Elementary School - Attalla City
Fyffe High School - DeKalb County
Henagar Junior High School - DeKalb County
Sylvania School - DeKalb County
Thurston T Nelson Elementary School - Scottsboro City